GroveStreams

Modifing Arduino example template493

OldNerd private msg quote post Address this user
Hi all, I'm new to GroveStreams (have used Temboo and Thinkspeak before) and am impressed with the power and functionality offered. The downside is that I found it kind of difficult to "drive".
I was able to get the Arduino Yun example up and running but now I'm hitting the wall to make the following changes:
- Instead of Temperature I would like to measure Water Consumption so I would like to rename all the titles accordingly.
- Remove the temperature in F as I will have just one magnitude (Liters) to be displayed.

I'm pretty familiar with Arduino so I need some hints as what is to be changed on its sketch but what I really need is some guide as how to edit the Grove side of the equation.

Anyone kind enough to share a guideline as how to change the Example?

Many thanks in advance
Post 1 IP   flag post
MikeMills private msg quote post Address this user
In the GS Observation studio, right click on your component and choose "Edit". You can pretty much change anything in there including the stream name. The feed api, that the arduino is using, detects which component to put the stream data into by using the Component ID and the Stream ID so if you change those IDs, then you need to change your Ardunio code.

Editing a component after it has been created is not an issue, but if you are registering many devices/components, then it can become a painfully repetitive thing to do. To avoid that, edit a component so that it looks the way you want (names, value types, units, and such), save it, and then right click on it and Create a template based on it. Enter Component Studio, edit the template, give it an ID, pass the template ID into every feed PUT call on the Arduino (many examples of this in our examples). This will create a new component based on the template if a component with that ID does not exist.
Post 2 IP   flag post