GroveStreams
Josephny private msg quote post Address this user
Hi,

I'm pretty new to GS and sure could use some help.

I would like to graph the gallons of propane used per minute of boiler operating time.

I have a data stream that takes a twice per day feed of the percentage of a 1000 gallon propane tank remaining (e.g., 30% at 1am on day 1, 29.5% at 1pm on day 2, 28% at 1am on day 2, etc. which translates into 300 gallons, 295 gallons and 280 gallons remaining, respectively) AND a stream of total number of minutes from midnight to midnight on each calendar day that the boiler is running.

The sample times between the streams do not coincide. And sometimes there will be a missing propane tank reading due to a wifi failure for the single-attempt pushed data from the remote tank reader.

Can someone please help with this derivation?

Thank you!

Joe
Post 1 IP   flag post
MikeMills private msg quote post Address this user
What resolution do you want the graph? For example is it plotting gallons per minute for each day - the graph has one point for each day?
Post 2 IP   flag post
Minutes per gallon (of boiler burner in operation) per day I think would be good. So, yes, 1 pt/day.

For example:

3/17/2018 40 minutes/gallon
3/18/2018 35 minutes/gallon
3/19/2018 42 minutes/gallon

Thanks!
Post 3 IP   flag post
BTW, this is what I have so far:

https://tinyurl.com/ybdqh5ye
Post 4 IP   flag post
Here's my best guess. I didn't test it. Let us know if this works:

I think you're uploading minutes per day, but GS can calculate that for you and also take Daylight Savings days into account. This example does this by creating a "Minutes" stream, setting its base cycle to minutes and then using the "Base Interval Count" for each Day cycle. User your stream or this one.

This example assumes percentage sampls are a decimal between zero and one. Change the expression if they are between 1 and 100.